RSS

Sausages and Writing and Book Covers – Oh My!!

09 Apr

Hi everyone.

As I’m sure you’ve noticed, I’m on a bit of a hiatus with the book tours.  They should be starting up again shortly and I’ll be posting here when they do.  🙂

The first thing I’m going to mention here this morning is the fact that I have three book cover projects up for submissions on Crowdspring.  If you or someone you know is a graphic designer/artist, please forward the links on to them.  🙂

They are:

Plugs

Historian’s Daughter

Along Came Jones

Which brings me to the second part of my blog today:  Sausages and Writing.  I can see your puzzled puppy looks… ;D

There’s a saying (I heard it on The West Wing):  “There are two things nobody should see you make:  sausages, and laws.”  I’ve been involved in making both (on the periphery of making laws, but still…) and truer words have never been spoken.  I’m beginning to think “writing” should be added to the list!

Like making sausages, it’s messy, gross and slightly obscene.  While you’re making sausages, you can taste test the mixture and taste test it and still can’t figure out exactly what’s missing.  We’ve spent a lot of time nibbling at a piece of sausage meat going, “I don’t know what it is, but something’s missing.  Garlic?” “No, garlic’s good.  Sage?”  “Sage is good.  Maybe we just need more salt?” Making sausage is best done as a collaborative effort because you need all the taste buds you can get.

Well, that niggling “I don’t know what it is, but something’s missing” has had me derailed for the last couple of months in terms of my writing Along Came Jones.  I love the characters, love the premise, love a lot of the scenes/banter/plot points.  But for the last couple of months, I’ve been trying to read the thing through to smooth out tone/plot/characterization/etc., etc. – and always got derailed halfway through because DAMN IT SOMETHING WAS MISSING!!!

Which would be where the obscene part begins.

I am happy to report, however, that I think I’ve pinpointed the problem (FINALLY!).  It means reorganizing the beginning, and rewriting an entire chapter, which will then have repercussions throughout the story, but well…that’s what happens with the spices in sausages, too:  they sometimes need time to permeate throughout the mixture.

Can I work a metaphor or what?

In the meantime, I’m commissioning a cover for it, along with Plugs and HIstorian’s Daughter.  The latter two have the same issue of “something’s missing” coupled with “OMG – who’s gonna buy these?” but I love them so much that I’m willing to take the risk of nasty reviews and no sales to get them polished and sent out into the wild.  Plus getting them in book form in my hot little hands.  Hey, I named my publishing company “Love of Words” for a reason!

Have a great day, everybody!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on April 9, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Sausages and Writing and Book Covers – Oh My!!

  1. Maggie Thom

    April 15, 2014 at 10:36 am

    Writing is a messy job, isn’t it? I think people would be scared if they saw what my books looked like while in the writing phase. 🙂

     
    • victoriabernadine

      April 30, 2014 at 9:26 pm

      OMG – I just realized I never answered you!! o.O

      I’ve been tempted to scan and post one of my print pages after I’ve edited. The scribbles, arrows, coded messages, and possibly different colours would make most people go “whaaaatttt???” and run for cover – LOL. Good thing I can still read my own writing! ;D

       

Leave a Reply

 
