RSS

My First 1-star Review!! :D

12 Mar

No, I’m not dyslexic – I know 1-star is bad.  Very bad.  LOL

Let me start at the beginning:  I was bored at work, so at coffee time, I cruised over to Amazon to see if I’d gotten any new reviews.  Lo and behold I did – the noted 1-star review.  Now, this isn’t my first “bad” review.  I had one tour host on my first tour who couldn’t get into it, and I’ve had some reviews that were pretty lukewarm, so the fact that somebody gave the book 1-star isn’t why I’m making this post.  I’m finding myself weirdly fascinated with the reasons she gave (I’m quoting it here only because I don’t want to misrepresent her words):

“I don’t want to go into much detail, but I could not make it through the first fifty pages of the book. I think it is honestly crazy to up and quit a job, cash and sell everything, and then go on a road trip with a gentlemen that is ten years younger that is a complete stranger. It really did not make sense to me and I am completely disappointed with this book and probably will not pick up another book from this author.”  (Link to Review)

Why am I weirdly fascinated?  Because if the premise didn’t make sense to her, why and how did she even pick up the book, and what did she think it was about?  I mean, I know I don’t enjoy vampires being portrayed as romantic leading men, therefore, I don’t read books with vampires as romantic leading men (not even the Twilight series).  I find myself so fascinated with the question that I’m thinking of setting up a little survey thing for this and future books to find out stuff like this – LOL.

Please don’t get me wrong!  This is her honest opinion, she’s entitled to it, and I respect it.  My questions aren’t intended to be facetious, to poke fun, or to create anger at her or her opinion.  I am just really, honestly curious.

I can’t, however, ask her because I don’t want her (or others) to misinterpret the question as snide or retaliatory, or as if she must justify her opinion (she doesn’t).  I’m therefore tossing the question out to you, my lovely blog readers:  do you try a book even though you know you dislike/disagree with the premise?

The only personal example I can think of is Lolita by Vladimir Nabokov, and to be honest, I had no idea what it was about.  I picked it up because it was mentioned in Don’t Stand So Close to Me by The Police.  I hated that book and skimmed through most of it.  I only kept reading because I wanted Humbert Humbert to die in a fucking fire and prayed that it was really his ghost telling the story. (Before you get too impressed, I googled the author’s first name, and confirmed the character’s name – LOL.) For the record, I also detested The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald, but that’s a rant for another day – ;D .

So, how about it?  What do you guys do with books where you know you dislike/disagree with the premise?

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 12, 2014 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

4 responses to “My First 1-star Review!! :D

  1. Maggie Thom

    March 12, 2014 at 2:21 pm

    Well I would say that your book did strike a nerve with that reader. I’m not sure why she’d have picked it up as you clearly state in the blurb, all the things she says she didn’t like about it. So did she even read it? I don’t pick up a book if I don’t like the premise. I’ve always been someone who reads a few pages before buying, I now do that online, before I ever take a book. There have been a few times I was disappointed but not too often. I also never review I didn’t finish and if I can’t at least give it a 3 then I don’t review it. Sorry for your one star review but also congrats, it means you’re over that hurdle. 🙂 I love that you have shared it, brave, and that you haven’t taken it personally, smart. 🙂 I loved it, I loved the concept of dropping everything and taking off and with a hot guy ten years younger – oh yeah!

     
    • victoriabernadine

      March 12, 2014 at 6:58 pm

      Yes, I believe it definitely touched a nerve (or two). I’m assuming there’s something more that bothered her than just the premise, but I guess I’ll never know – :D. I did have to giggle at the “it’s honestly crazy to up and quit a job…etc.” because, you know. Been there, done that – LOLOL. The only thing I haven’t done is the road trip with a handsome young boy toy, but I’m always open to the possibility! ;D

      I’m like you: I don’t pick up a book if I don’t like the premise. That said, if something in the description intrigues me, I’ll take a look through the first few pages to decide if I want to give it a try not. There are some authors who I don’t even look at the blurb before buying the book (Stephen King; Terry Pratchett; Christopher Brookmyre – I could go on ;D ). I’m sometimes disappointed in those cases, but very seldom.

      I love that you have shared it, brave, and that you haven’t taken it personally, smart. 🙂

      Thank you! 🙂 One of the advantages of writing fanfic is you get used to people not liking your story. I’ve been lucky in that I haven’t been the target of really bad reviews, but there are some poor authors where the feedback gets…vitriolic. If that had been the first review I received, I would have been crying in a corner somewhere – LOL – but at this point, it’s really a “your mileage may vary” reaction. 🙂

      I loved it, I loved the concept of dropping everything and taking off and with a hot guy ten years younger – oh yeah!

      I know exactly what you mean! LOL – I’d sure do it! And if he looked like Karl Urban (sigh…) the way Zeke does, he wouldn’t get the chance to ask me twice! 😀

       
      • Maggie Thom

        March 13, 2014 at 10:14 am

        Okay I had to look up who Karl Urban was – knew him as soon as I saw his face. Nice. I can’t believe there is a female out there who wouldn’t quit her job in a heart beat (I too did that) and run away with a hunk (mine is actually 2 years older than me but a keeper, I’d run away with him) :). Keep smiling and finding the humor in what others do, it really is the best medicine. Now get writing I want to read your next book – no running away anytime soon. 😀

         
        • victoriabernadine

          March 15, 2014 at 8:04 am

          Sorry – I hadn’t realized you’d replied! 😀

          I’ll admit, if it hadn’t been for my friends list on LiveJournal, I never would have known who he was either. He started popping up on my feed long before I ever saw Star Trek Reboot, and when I saw that, I was like “ooooh. I get it now… O.O ” I’m so happy he’s starring in Almost Human (on Fox) so (if it gets renewed) I can watch him weekly.

          I watch for the plots. Really.

          I think I’ve finally figured out what’s blocking me with my current book. It may mean a major edit of the first 50 pages, but if it gets the story on track then HALLELUJAH and pass the laptop. LOL

           

Leave a Reply

 
