RSS

Publishing Process Stuff… :D

16 Jun

Over on TeacherWriter, Running1 asked me whether I had self-published or traditionally published, and what process I used to get my book into production.

I self-published A Life Less Ordinary, mainly because I didn’t want the hassle of trying to get it published through a traditional publisher.  (At the time, my patience for jumping through hoops was at an all-time low.)

My first step (after writing the thing, of course – 😀 ) was to edit.  And edit.  And then edit some more.  I shared it with friends and strangers, and corrected the errors they caught.  And then I edited it again.  Editing Hell is, well, hell.  Ugh.

There comes a time, though, when you have say something’s done and you move on to the next step.

When I was nearing the end of Editing Hell, I incorporated a company (Love of Words Publishing Inc.).  A Life Less Ordinary was and is my guinea pig to figure out my business processes.  I want to eventually publish other people’s work as well, but first I have to figure out how all of this is done.  At the time I started, I had no clue what it would take to get the book uploaded onto Amazon, or how (or if!) I could get it ready for printing at CreateSpace.

Thanks to my previous day job, I have a basic understanding of the publishing process, from copyright, editing, graphic design, desktop publishing and contracts, to some very basic knowledge about printing.  I even, if push comes to shove, know people in all of those areas who can give me a hand.  What I didn’t (and still don’t!) have is a very good knowledge of marketing and distribution.  Only the two most important pieces.  *cough*

Now, I did things a bit awkwardly this first go-round.  I created the first cover myself…and it was…oh my God –AW-FUL!!!  It’s still floating around out there in cyberspace and it’s truly horrible.  I didn’t get the current cover until March, after I commissioned it through a site called CrowdSpring (linked through CreateSpace).  I also published the e-book first (in December) and then the print book in March.  I tied myself to an exclusive agreement with Amazon for three months and so the book wasn’t released on Smashwords until late April.  I didn’t start making arrangements for the blog tours until March (when I knew I’d also have a print copy available).

In terms of marketing, I have the two blog tours; I had a free giveaway for five days in December through Amazon (the exclusive agreement I mentioned), and I also did a free giveaway on LibraryThing.  In all, there are almost a thousand free copies floating around in the world, which I hope will translate into sales for the next book.  ;D  I also have a lot of ideas…but very little money at the moment, so some of those ideas will have to wait for a bit.

As I write this out, it all seems very mundane and boring.  So it seems very odd to me that I’ve been having a blast!  With all of it!  Even the really boring stuff – LOL.

The business side of things is very different from the writing side of things.  I write in a very free-flow kind of way.  Whenever I try to describe it, I keep imagining myself skipping through a meadow, strewing words in every direction…which sounds far more disturbing than it is!!  The business side of things is far more structured and linear; I guess it pleases that part of me that’s very Type-A…

So, to make a long story short, I’ve learned a lot about the publishing process with this first book.  Which means the next one will be much smoother, as will the one after that, and the one after that – 😀 .  I’ve also enjoyed every minute of it (even those minutes that annoyed me (formatting the Smashwords version – OMG!!!))

I’m not sure if this is what you, Running1, was hoping to learn about; just drop me a comment if you have questions or if I’ve totally missed the boat!!  😀

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 16, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Publishing Process Stuff… :D

  1. Running1

    June 17, 2013 at 6:51 am

    This is so informative – thanks. I am currently trying the traditional route but I’m so interested in the process others have used and trying to soak in as much info as I can. I really like the hookline for your book and once I have a free moment, I am going to pick it up. If you feel like perusing my first 3 chapters – lmk and I’ll send it to you. Realize you’re swamped at the moment getting yours out and best of luck!

     
    • victoriabernadine

      June 18, 2013 at 12:29 pm

      Hi Running1 – sorry for not getting back to you yesterday! It did not go as planned… 😦

      I’m glad you found my post informative, and that you like the hookline for my book!! If you want to check out the preview, it’s available on Amazon.com.

      And sure, I’ll take a look at your first three chapters – just send it to me at loveofwords@shaw.ca. I’ll try to get back to you ASAP with any comments/feedback. 🙂

       
      • Running1

        June 19, 2013 at 5:22 am

        just emailed it Victoria – thanks!

         

Leave a Reply

 
