RSS

Of Pseudonyms and Things

29 Mar

Welcome to my blog!

As the title of this post says, I’m going to ramble a little bit about pseudonyms and things…

“Victoria Bernadine” is a pseudonym.  I chose to publish under a pen name for several reasons, but the main one was an attempt to keep my writing life and my “day job life” separate.  In my past day job, I dealt with the public a lot and my name was the official contact name for many years.  The result is that my real name brings up a lot of hits on the web.  I didn’t want my writing life to get lost in the clutter and so – “Victoria Bernadine” was born.

What I hadn’t counted on was the conflicting emotions I feel as I attempt to build an online presence for my pen name.  I’ve never posted online as anyone other than myself (meaning my real name or a variation thereof).  Posting under this name feels…very…bizarre to me – like I’m trying to “put one over” on people.

Which is stupid. I know.  I get it!  It’s no different than making up a screen name to post on IMDB or on any of the other bajillion sites on the Internet.  It still feels very weird to me.

I’m sure it’ll get easier with time and I’m going to post as “me” and not create a different backstory for Victoria – like Stephen King did for Richard Bachman – but I think it’s going to take some time for me to get used to it.

Ah, well.  Posting on a blog will definitely  help me practice anyway!  😀

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 29, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Of Pseudonyms and Things

  1. Caroline Clemmons

    May 12, 2013 at 9:02 pm

    Caroline Clemmons is my pseudonym and it felt strange at first. Now it seems natural to me, so give yourself time to adjust. I believe keeping personal and private separate is a good thing. for most of us. If I had a terrific real name, I’d probably feel differently, but my real last name and maiden name are both blah, bland, hohumish.

     
    • victoriabernadine

      May 12, 2013 at 9:39 pm

      Thanks so much for the advice – it’s really helpful. I’m glad I’m not the only one who feels/felt strange about using a pseudonym. 🙂 (And I feel exactly the same way about my real name!)

       

Leave a Reply

 
